Federal departments project $18+ million spending on return-to-office implementation
Thirteen departments disclosed costs for the four-days-a-week mandate, while 56 organizations withheld figures. Treasury Board says no studies assessed whether the policy would improve services.
The day's top stories, food & events — every morning at 7. Unsubscribe anytime.
Federal departments and agencies are projected to spend more than $18 million implementing the four-days-a-week return-to-office policy that came into effect in May for executives and July for other employees, according to data released Tuesday through an order paper question submitted by NDP MP Heather McPherson.
Of 81 departments and agencies that responded to McPherson's request for cost information, only 13 disclosed projected costs. Twelve organizations reported no costs associated with the policy, while 56 did not disclose figures or referred questions to Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC).
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada reported the highest disclosed costs at $5,695,000, spent on "temporary adjustments aimed at modernizing workspace, optimizing the use of office space, and responding to evolving accommodation needs." The Department of Fisheries and Oceans projected $4.2 million for supporting "accommodation-related projects across its facilities nationwide." Canada Border Services Agency listed $3.9 million, and Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada estimated $2 million "subject to refinement."
The Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada planned about $100,000 on furniture purchases. Several organizations reported their costs "are still being assessed in collaboration with Public Services and Procurement," and others stated "finalized costing is not yet available."
When Treasury Board was asked whether specific metrics, assessments or studies were used to determine if the policy would deliver better services, the department replied: "no specific metrics, assessments, or studies" were used. Bill Matthews, the top public servant at Treasury Board, said the policy was based on a "philosophical choice."
The federal government has office space to accommodate 90 per cent of government workers, but some departments delayed implementation due to insufficient office space. PSPC acknowledged that the government's previous plan to reduce office space by 50 per cent is "no longer feasible" and that the new remote work requirements will require "significant changes to previous plans."
PSPC has not acquired any net new office space since the government announced the increased in-office requirements in February. The agency is "considering" increasing its real estate portfolio "over the next few months," and is currently undertaking "proactive real estate market interest research" to identify potential leases in the national capital region.
IRCC has delayed implementation of the four-days-a-week mandate after releasing a "significant portion" of office space in the National Capital Region. The department said it is "working with Public Services and Procurement Canada to reassess requirements in light of increased in-person presence."
Why were 56 of 81 responding organizations allowed to withhold their cost projections from a parliamentary order paper question?
If 10 per cent of the public service cannot fit in existing buildings even with 90 per cent capacity, what is the timeline for acquiring the additional space PSPC is considering?
We'll update this story as answers emerge.
By the numbers
How much did federal departments project spending on return-to-office implementation?
More than $18 million across responding departments and agencies, based on data released through an order paper question submitted by NDP MP Heather McPherson.
Which department reported the highest implementation costs?
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada projected $5,695,000, spent on workspace modernization, office space optimization, and accommodation improvements.
Did Treasury Board use studies to assess whether the policy would improve services?
No. Treasury Board stated that no specific metrics, assessments, or studies were used to determine if the policy would deliver better services, with the department saying the policy was based on a 'philosophical choice.'
How many of 81 departments and agencies disclosed their return-to-office costs?
Only 13 departments disclosed projected costs. Twelve reported no costs, while 56 either did not disclose figures or referred questions to Public Services and Procurement Canada.